RAAF C-27J Spartan fleet set to receive avionics upgrade

RAAF C27J Spartan avionics upgrade
RAAF C-27J Spartan. The RAAF fleet includes 10 Spartans which are operated by No. 35 Squadron
at RAAF Base Amberley.

The Australian Government has signed a Commonwealth Avionics Upgrade Acquisition Contract for the C-27J Spartan Light Tactical Fixed Wing fleet.

The $70 million contract with Leonardo will result in the replacement and upgrade of existing radio capability, further improving the overall safety and suitability of the C-27J platform.

Head of Aerospace Systems Division, Air Vice-Marshal (AVM) Leon Phillips said the C-27J Spartan was an important capability for the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF).

“Operated by No. 35 Squadron, the C-27J Spartan fleet provides essential transportation and aerial delivery of passengers, troops and cargo, support to search and rescue missions, and aeromedical evacuation in our region,” AVM Leon Phillips said.

“Upgrading the cryptographic radio function of the C-27J platform will ensure ongoing availability of secure communications, including interoperability with key strategic partners and intelligence networks, and increased overall safety for our Australian Defence Force personnel.”

RAAF C27J Spartan avionics upgrade
AIRCDRE Steven Pesce, Director General, Airlift and Tanker Systems Branch and Mr. Marco Zoff, Leonardo Aircraft Division Managing Director signed the Commonwealth Avionics Upgrade (CAU) Acquisition Contract in Turin, Italy on 21 October 2022.

Leonardo was selected to undertake the upgrade as the Prime contractor and the original manufacturer of the Spartan. They hold specialist knowledge and the expertise needed to conduct these major modifications to the aircraft.

No. 35 Squadron and Northrop Grumman personnel will modify the C-27J as part of routine maintenance.

The Commonwealth Avionics Upgrade will begin in September 2023 at RAAF Base Amberley and is due to be completed in 2026.

Leonardo has sold 88 C-27J Spartan aircraft to date. Users include Italy (12), Greece (8), Bulgaria (3), Lithuania (3), Romania (7), the United States (Army 7 + Coast Guard 14), Morocco (4), Mexico (4), Chad (2), Australia (10), Peru (4), Slovakia (2), Kenya (3), Zambia (2), Slovenia (1) and Turkmenistan (2).

Source: Australian Government

No comments

All comments related to the contents of our articles are welcome. It is not allowed to post promotional messages, links to external sites, or references to activities not related to this blog.

Powered by Blogger.